Truly,Simply,Gently

image006.jpgDearest Keith and Cynthia,

In my attendance of many weddings, there are the love declarations, the “in-love” vows, the pledges that say I love you forever, or “I long for you, isn’t it wonderful” and the promises that your exquisiteness will be embalmed forever in spices of image and sound.

Always the You and I; these propositions, like the required black cocktail dress, are too disingenously worn.

Both of you needed no such displays of outward feeling on your wedding night.

All of us were jealously flabbergasted and enchanted with the way you sang to Cynthia, more sonorously than angels. And as you drew Cynthia close to you in the midst of that song, I could not but turn away smiling, as if I interrupted clumsily upon a moment as intimate as a lover’s whisper.

So Keith and Cynthia, I have nothing but the most joyful happiness for both of you and may your love for each other increase daily and ever blaze in the sun, in the sun. And of all the dusty, vague poems of love I can recall to dedicate my best wishes to both of you, I like this magical one the most…

Honours, riches, marriage-blessing,
Long continuance and increasing,
Hourly joys be still upon you;
Juno sings her blessing on you.

Earth’s increase, foison plenty,
Barns and garners never empty,
Vines with clustering bunches growing,
Plants with goodly burden bowing,
Spring come to you at the farthest,
In the very end of harvest,.
Scarcity and want shall shun you.
Ceres’ blessing so is on you.

(The Tempest)

4 Responses to “Truly,Simply,Gently”

  1. I cannot believe he got married! Did he smell nice? heheheheheh

  2. Yes, he shaved and bathed, with the help of one ACS Metrosexual, Jeremy!
    Well, even if he stunk, I couldn’t tell…kakakaka 😛

  3. Eh Dei,
    Thanks for the kind heart felt words. Though most of which I can’t understand much cos’ i’m not a literary person, but i’m certain of the effort you put into writing them, something like the effort i put in to singing that song.

    May you one day have a good song to sing to Your love one. When that time comes, you can come ask me for suggestions….
    As for now, i guess your song is:

    “I have climbed the highest mountains, I have sailed thru the seas, only to be with you…. only to be with you … But I still haven’t found what I’m looking for” (Paul Hewson)

    ;-P

    k

  4. haha, no but i just heard a song that should have been at your wedding! Eva Cassidy’s “At Last”… really super song 🙂

Leave a Reply

